Prematurity Awareness Month Kieta and KJ’s story

We are so humbled that families have agreed to share their stories with us in observance of Prematurity Awareness month. There is a need to make sure we are telling our stories and sharing our triumphs and challenges with the community. We honor the families that have shared pictures and stories around their journey as it continues to unfold.

 

Below you will find the birth story of Kieta M Iriarte and her little person AJ. Kieta is a entreprenuer in the Baltimore area who is focused on providing technical services to non profits and gvenment organizations in Baltimore and beyond.

Kieta M Iriarte

Birth Story of Karim “KJ” Amin

February 27, 2018

 

September 2013 my husband and I had a horrible miscarriage. We had just told our 2 daughters and all our family because we were one week away for the second trimester.  The day after we went to the doctor and there wasn’t a heartbeat.

 

In September of 2014, we were thrilled to announce that we were pregnant again. Knowing that this could be a high-risk pregnancy we were monitored.  We were also in transition as Karim took a contractor position and we moved to Winston Salem, NC.  Partly for his work, and partly because I didn’t want to work and wanted to focus on being pregnant and a mom to the girls.

 

Our initial due date was April 1, 2015 but at the 5th month we were told that I had a condition called placenta accreta/previa.  With this condition, I was told that I had to deliver prematurely, go on bed and pelvic rest, and have a 90% chance of having a hysterectomy and/or bleeding to death during childbirth.

 

My due date was pushed to March 15, then March 5, then was told I had to deliver at 35 weeks on February 28. The C-section was moved again to February 27th. In Winston Salem there are 2 hospitals.  Wake Forest which is a teaching hospital and Forsyth Hospital which has an entire birthing ward with amazing resources.

 

Our doctors choose to have the c-section at the teaching hospital. Unfortunately, the teaching hospital had zero knowledge or know how to deal with the complications that arise with a NICU baby and mom whom could not care for a baby.

 

When we arrived at the hospital triage they told us “we do not deliver babies in the hospital”.  Once they found our doctor and learned the severity we were told to go behind a curtain and I changed into a robe. From there we went to the operating room. At this point, we were told over 40 times that I could hemorrhage during the procedure and that it was a 90% chance I will have to have hysterectomy.

 

There were about 25 people in the operating room.  There were surgeons for the baby, oncologist, ob/gyns and all of their students.   My husband was there but I did not wake up until recovery. Karim said when KJ was born he was small and could not breath immediately. What does he do, stay with me or go with the baby to NICU?  We were told my risks of having an early C-section but we were never told the repercussions of having baby in the NICU.

 

My mother in law was able to stay with the girls.  She traveled to NC from Baltimore for the birth. When I woke up there were a number nurses. My doctor was nowhere to be found. In the room, I could not speak for myself.  I did not have a printed birth plan. They would not have listened.

 

My room  after my surgery was on the 7th floor. KJ was on the 4th floor.  I did not have to have a hysterectomy but I did need 2 blood transfusions.  I could not walk for 2 days. There was no skin to skin for 4 days.  I could not pump because I could not move.   My husband was able to do skin to skin.  It was also flu season so the girls and my mother in law could not visit the baby.

 

Once I was able to move from the bed to the wheel chair we would ask for transport to the 4th floor.  Over and over we were ignored, told no and not given the importance priority and support  that a mommy and baby need.

 

We complained many times that our requests were not being met.  No one seemed to feel as though it was a priority.  I  was in the hospital for a week.  Leaving the hospital without KJ was unbelievably hard.  I was used to having a baby and taking the baby home.  KJ had to stay in the hospital NICU for 20 days.  They gave us a website  we could log in and see him.  We tried to breastfeed but he was given formula right after delivery.  Without my consent.

 

KJ is an awesome 3 year old. I did not need a hysterectomy and we are both here to tell the story

Leave a comment